About Lazywednesdays

I like poems

I like the space

I like the playfulness

The to and fro of wordballs

You throw

I’ll catch, sometimes

But usually I’ll just be standing in the space… over there, on the right and up a bit

My eye isn’t always on the ball.

The space around poems is luxurious, abundant, infinite, protected and free, expensive and cheap, all mine, all yours, comforting and disconcerting

Like an air~steward’s smile

All over the place

over here

and over here

<- Her palms indicate exit signs ->

You’ll be fine!

But still you count the seats in front and behind

The space around poems is like green fields around a city

Peace of mind?

I’ll give you a piece of my mind

Just step outside the next line.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The first poetry book I was given was called, “I Like This Poem” (1979) and it had a picture of a dog balancing a red ball on its nose.Β  I loved that book!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Some Inspiring Articles about Poetry:

Poetry Changed the World

Injury and the Ethics of Reading

http://www.bostonreview.net/BR37.4/elaine_scarry_poetry_literature_reading_empathy_ethics.php

11 thoughts on “About Lazywednesdays

    • Thank you so much mlr. I’ve been feeling bereft of creativity recently, but always love visiting and reading your poems. I need to make more time for writing – it’s maddening. Thank you so much for the lovely gesture – very much appreciated πŸ™‚ LZW

  1. very opening – the space around poems (the space IN poems); Japanese art (so I’ve read) (in Alan Watts) works on the space suggested by the painting, not what the brush-strokes have depicted; John Cage’s 4′ 33”; the yin to the yang, the yin that allows the yang; what Kierkegaard was ‘leap of faith’ing INTO; ethereal but at the same time the breath that we breathe …

    • thank you for this reply – I think this is why I love poetry so much more than say fiction – though I do love fiction too – there is just so much more space in poetry… I like your comparisons with art and music – one of my favourite artists is L.S. Lowry – and I think it is the sense of space (despite the jostling of people for space in an industrial landscape – where I grew up) which pulls me in – his people not unlike branches in Japanese art, I think. I’ve never listened to John Cage’s 4′ 33″ – I’d be too scared to unwrap my toffees.

  2. Hi, and thanks for following! After a couple of visits, I’ve completely warmed up to Wellington, to the city and its people. I would love to spend more time in the national capital, as well as the rest of the country.

    • You’re welcome. Your photos are stunning – I’m glad you enjoyed some calm weather whilst you were here. You know what they say, “You can’t beat Wellington on a good day!” – if only we had a few more of them πŸ˜‰

Please leave a Reply :)

