Daughter

Stop swinging on that chair!

Daydream painting spilt, you glare.

Twins separated by millenniums.

 

Suspended on my junior chair

My finger barely touched the desk.

The classroom window framed

A silent, untold world

Floating through florescent lights

Reflections in a thunderous sky.

 

Only when my skull hit the floor,

Did I finally hear the classroom roar.

Feel the bloody red-orange paint tear

Down my matter-of-fact paper face.

Truth ~ a red rag smearing every last trace.

Humiliated bull!

 

Like Frost on his childhood birches,

I wish I could let you carry on swinging.

 

I don’t know what makes me feel more angry ~

Knowing the pain,

Or watching, helplessly, as you hear

The roar of the world over and over again.

Please leave a Reply :)

