I could not stop to think

Because I could not stop to think
Thought kindly took me in
And taught me how to Contemplate
Inside the chattering din.

We found a little Quiet Place
Underneath a Tree
And there all things passed us by
Like Eternity.

For Centuries I stayed with Him
But seemed like just a Day
We watched the planets come and go
Through the Milky Way

We heard the children laugh and play
Cicadas sang their song
The summers danced round winter grief
I felt the whole Earth’s throng.

I touched the ground with fingertip
I scarcely felt the urge
And Earth responded suddenly
With awful thundering surge

Awakened all my mind to naught
Thought looked on in terror
Spirits hid in foliage
And trembled at my error.

But much to Our relief
From out of shattering Blindness
The Clouds transformed to Rain
And soaked us in their Kindness.

4 thoughts on “I could not stop to think

Please leave a Reply :)

